Skip to Content

Head of State and Government

The President shall be the head of state and of the Government and the Commander-in Chief of the Defence Force.

The Executive Power of the Republic of Namibia shall vest in the President and the Cabinet.

Except as may be otherwise provided in the constitution or by law, the President shall in the excersice of his or her functions be obliged to act in consultation with the cabinet. learn more on President Hage G. Geingob.




Cabinet consist of the President, the Vice-president, the Prime Minister, Deputy Prime Minister and such other Ministers from the members of the national Assembly, including members nominated under Article 46(1)(b) hereof, for the purposes of administering and executing

the functions of the government.

Members of cabinet.




26 Cabinet Ministers

All ministers shall be accountable individually for the administration of their ministries and collectively for the administration of the work of the cabinet, both to the President and to Parliament.

26 Deputy Ministers

The president may appoint from the members of the National Assembly, including membersnominated under Article46(1)(b) hereof, and the National Council such Deputy-Ministers as he or she may consider expedient, to excersice or perform on behalf of Ministers any of the powers, functions and duties which may have been assigned to such Ministers.

Learn more about the each OMA at


About the Government

The government is run through departments, office, agencies and other entities. They implement policies to support the public.

Office include the Office of the President, Vice President and the Prime Minister. Ministerial departments cover the whole of Namibia, except the vice presidents' office that only applies to marginalised communities and war survivors.

Parastatals focus on providing services then implementing policies.


3 Offices + 23 Ministerial Departments + 8 Agencies + 41 Parastatals

more at


Civil Service

The Civil Service does the practical and administrative work of government. It is co-ordinated and managed by the different appointed ministers and CEOs. More than half of all civil servants provide services direct to the public, including:

  • paying benefits and pensions
  • running employment services
  • staffing prisons
  • providing identification

The Civil Service is on eService




Coat of Arm


1 Engelberg Street, Auasblick

Private Bag 13339, Windhoek

Tel: 264 (61) 270 7111

Fax: 264 (61) 271 770




More contacts